Week seven- Web based learning.

As studying History helps us to understand change in society, and events that shaped todays world it is an interesting and exciting subject to study. The past causes the present, and so the future. As much as I love history as a teacher, I also am not in denial and understand that students don’t love history. The integration of web-based resources in lessons could make or break the learning experiences of my students. Google cultural institutes purpose is for users to “Learn more about historic moments from the last century with photos, manuscripts, archived letters, and first-hand video testimonials.” (Google, 2015) This platform provides an interactive space for students to explore artworks and elements of history in a visual manner. They can even take a selfie and find which historical artwork their doppelgänger appears in! IMG_5346.PNG.png  < Google arts & culture app featuring me.

I would also the learning management system “Google Classroom”, particularly in upper primary (year 5/6) and high school. There are many justifying reasons for this, but the main points are that it is cheap, easy and inclusive. I have used google classroom on my pracs, and it proved incredibly successful, however the school I was at did not have a BYOD policy so I had to use the schools computer lab for those lessons, which is something to consider about this learning management system.

  • Google (2015)

Leave a comment